Ballyboden break Coolderry hearts and book Leinster final after 100-minute epic with 10 goals, 53 points and four reds

Ballyboden St Enda’s 5-28
Coolderry 5-25

(After extra extra-time)

Paul Keane reports from Parnell Park

IF THERE WAS a more entertaining game played at Parnell Park than this AIB Leinster club SHC semi-final, settled by the majesty of Dublin footballer Colm Basquel who hit 3-3, we’d love to hear about it.

An epic encounter that stretched out to almost 100 minutes yielded 63 scores, 10 of which were goals, as well as four dismissals, one of which went to Coolderry’s Brian Carroll who finished with a staggering 2-16 personal haul.

Ultimately it’s Joe Fortune’s Ballyboden that progress to face the might of Henry Shefflin’s Ballyhale Shamrocks in the 2 December final though it remains to be seen how much their journey there has taken out of them.

Ballyboden needed a replay to shake off Kilmacud Crokes in the Dublin final and their Leinster quarter-final also went to extra-time while this game needed a second additional extra-time period of 10 minutes to produce a winner.

Free-taker Paul Ryan hit 14 points for Ballyboden and it was his three points at the death that separated the teams though Basquel was the player everyone was talking about afterwards.

The 2016 All-Ireland club football medallist started for Dublin in the Super 8s at Croke Park against Roscommon though turned to hurling after the Championship and made his first senior start for his club today.

Aside from his 3-3 tally, all of which came from play, he won those three late frees that Ryan converted, played a key role in a goal for Conal Keaney and also won the free that Ryan stroked over to force extra-time at the end of the original hour.

It was one of those mad cap afternoons that began at 2pm and didn’t conclude until gone 4.30pm as both teams gave it everything.

Coolderry essentially played with a seven-point handicap because they leaked 2-1 in the opening three minutes as Niall Ryan and Basquel swooped for early Boden goals.

Coolderry responded with six points in a row and made it crystal clear that they were prepared to fight all the way.

Keaney, who was sent off late on for a second yellow card, scored his goal in the 25th minute after great work by Basquel and Boden led 3-8 to 0-10 at half-time.

They got the margin out to nine points in the second-half though Coolderry goals from Conor Molloy, Declan Parlon and Carroll tied it up two minutes into injury-time.

Captain Kevin Connolly briefly put Coolderry ahead before Basquel won a free that Ryan converted to force extra-time at 4-17 to 3-20.

Basquel’s second goal was in the 46th minute after a solo run and his third came in extra-time though Carroll sneaked his second for Coolderry to leave them level after extra-time, 5-22 to 4-25.

That meant another 10 minutes had to be played – split into two five-minute halves – and Boden eventually came out on top by outscoring Coolderry 0-6 to 1-0 in this period.

Ryan got five of these six points though both sides were reduced in numbers as the emotion got the better of the teams and resulted in those dismissals.

Scorers for Ballyboden St Enda’s: Paul Ryan 0-14 (0-11f, 0-1 65), Colm Basquel 3-3, Conal Keaney 1-1, Niall Ryan 1-0, Paul Doherty 0-3, David Curtin 0-2, Shane Durkin 0-2, Stephen O’Connor 0-2, Aidan Mellett 0-1.
Scorers for Coolderry: Brian Carroll 2-16 (0-11f), Daniel Miller 1-1, Declan Parlon 1-1, Stephen Corcoran 1-0 (1-0 pen), Kevin Connolly 0-3, Mark Bergin 0-1, Cathal Parlon 0-1, William Malone 0-1, Martin Corcoran 0-1.
Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Ballyboden St Enda’s

1. Conor O’Donoghue

2. James Madden
3. Luke Corcoran
8. David O’Connor

4. Shane Durkin
7. Dean Curran
6. Simon Lambert (Captain)

20. David Curtin
5. Stephen O’Connor

17. Aidan Mellett
15. Niall McMorrow
9. Niall Ryan

10. Conal Keaney
24. Colm Basquel
13. Niall McMorrow

Subs: Conor Dooley for Niall Ryan (41), Paul Doherty for David Curtin (47), Finn McGarry for Stephen O’Connor (53), Malachy Travers for Mellett (59). Mellett for Travers (e/t), Conor McCormack for Lambert (73), James Roche for McMorrow (78).


1. Stephen Corcoran

2. Stephen Connolly
3. Trevor Corcoran
4. Stephen Burke

5. Barry Teehan
6. Kevin Brady
7. Brian Kelly

8. Mark Bergin
9. David King

11. Conor Molloy
13. Brian Carroll
10. Eoghan Parlon

15. Kevin Connolly (Captain)
14. Martin Corcoran
20. Daniel Miller

Subs: Cathal Parlon for Martin Corcoran (h/t), Joe Brady for Bergin (47), Declan Parlon for Miller (47), William Malone for Trevor Corcoran (49). Bergin for Kelly (h/t e/t), Miller for Molloy (76).

Referee: Justin Heffernan (Wexford).

Subscribe to our new podcast, Heineken Rugby Weekly on The42, here:

Click Here: Cheap Old Skool shoes

0 thoughts on “Ballyboden break Coolderry hearts and book Leinster final after 100-minute epic with 10 goals, 53 points and four reds”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *