Stradbally shatter Portlaoise’s 10-in-a-row hopes as Michael Murphy leads Glenswilly to glory

STRADBALLY STUNNED PORTLAOISE with a dramatic last-minute goal to seal their first Laois SFC title since 2005.

Jody Dillon rattled the back of the Portlaoise net to end their 10-in-a-row hopes and pick up Stradbally’s 16th county title. Portlaoise were leading by two points in stoppage-time before Dillon’s goal.

Laoch na himeartha,Michael Murphy-The 3 county finals @GaaGlenswilly have won,Murphy has been Man of the Match. What a man!@officialdonegal

— Damien Ó Dónaill (@RNF36) October 16, 2016

Source: Damien Ó Dónaill/Twitter

Elsewhere, Glenswilly are the county champions in Donegal. Goalscorer Michael Murphy inspired his side to a one-point victory as they wrapped up their third county title since 2011.

Click Here:

Dr Crokes are kingpins in Kerry once again. Colm Cooper’s side claimed their fifth SFC title in seven years with a 2-16 to 1-12 victory over Kenmare District.


In Armagh Maghery won their first ever championship after a four point win over Cullyhanna, in a rare showpiece event without the involvement of Crossmaglen.

Comhghairdeas le @MagheryGAC, Armagh Senior Football champions 2016.

— armagh_gaa (@Armagh_GAA) October 16, 2016

Source: Armagh GAA/Twitter

A goal in either half helped Sarsfields to their second straight title. Ray Cahill and Alan Smith found the net as they ran out 2-13 to 0-15 winners over Moorefield.

Elsewhere, Slaughtneil (Derry), Carbery Rangers (Cork), Rhode (Offaly), Mullinalaghta (Longford) and Cargin (Antrim) all lifted titles in their respective counties. In the Ulster SFC quarter-final, Down’s Kilcoo ran out two point winners over Monaghan champions Scotstown.

Football results

Armagh SFC final
Cullyhanna 0-12 Maghery 1-13

Antrim SFC final
Cargin 1-10 St Gall’s 0-6


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

Cork SFC final
Ballincollig 1-12 Carbery Rangers 1-15

Derry SFC final
Loup 0-6 Slaughtneil 2-11

Donegal SFC final
Glenswilly 1-10 Kilcar 0-12

Laois SFC final
Portlaoise 1-12 Stradbally 2-10

Longford SFC final
Abbeylara 0-8 Mullinalaghta 1-8

Kerry SFC final
Dr Crokes 2-16 Kenmare District 1-12

Kildare SFC final
Moorefield 0-15 Sarsfields 2-13

Offaly SFC final
Ferbane 0-9 Rhode 1-14

Ulster club SFC quarter-final
Scotstown 0-9 Kilcoo 1-8

Westmeath SFC semi-final
Athlone 1-6 Tyrrellspass 1-8

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

0 thoughts on “Stradbally shatter Portlaoise’s 10-in-a-row hopes as Michael Murphy leads Glenswilly to glory”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *